USA, Switzerland, Argentina, Cuba, Ukraine, Azerbaidjan, Japan

Joana Elena Obieta - voice
Anibal Cruz - piano
Han Beyli - bass
Keisel Jimenez - drum set
Kan Yanabe - percussion

DEJAN is a soul family of world jazz. “De” - meaning ‘of’ or ‘from’ in Spanish. “Jan” - Azerbaijani for ‘soul’ or ‘family’. The group’s ethnic rhythms, the strong Latin roots, and Middle Eastern improvisation takes audiences on a musical journey around the world. DEJÀN is a young world jazz project that consists of the masterful Azerbaijani / Ukrainian bassist Han Beyli, renowned Cuban drummer Keisel Jimenez, the Swiss / Argentinian vocalist Joana Obieta, Japanese percussionist Kan Yanabe and is directed by Cuban pianist and composer Anibal Cruz. DEJAN’s music sounds familiar and yet new at the same time. The sounds of various cultures are presented in an innovative and authentic way. Through the platform of their music, the artists who gratuated Berklee College of Music create cross-cultural awareness, dialogue, empathy and respect for each other’s traditions and cultures. They all live in New York in present and perform frequently in USA and in Europe.